RSS

Lazy Weekends Aren’t Helping

24 Sep

I wouldn’t call myself an energetic person, I might even go as far as saying that I am sort of lazy. While aware of this about myself I do try to combat it by forcing myself into doing things that get me up and around, and this is made easier by being a single father of two boys. My diet and exercise changes have helped in making me get out everyday, and scouts really forces me to not only get out, but to get up to plan what is going to happen when I get out. Here lately I have been making it harder on myself, and everything has just seemed to be harder to do than I feel it should be.

I started really thinking about this in between naps this weekend. See, this was the third kid free weekend in a row that I did not do anything. I don’t even say that as a funny statement on not getting anything done. I got off my couch to get food and drink, or to find the tv remote, but that was it. I spent two days laying there doing nothing, going back and forth from being asleep, and watched a bunch of tv that I don’t even fully remember now. I didn’t feel depressed, I didn’t feel upset, I just didn’t feel like doing anything. I didn’t clean up after myself, or even go outside in those two days. I just laid there and did nothing.

I don’t even think there is anything wrong with doing nothing, if that is what you want to do, but I had so many other things to do. I needed to get a laundry list of things done, including my laundry. My apartment is horrendous, I have needed it cleaned for months now, my car is worse, and I have about three scout things that needed planned by now. So, why aren’t these things just done, why haven’t I done them? Well it seems like I have more excuses than reasons at this point, but I don’t really know what I am going to do about fixing that right now.

I guess my biggest excuse for not doing as much as I have been, is that my back is killing me. This isn’t a lie, or something that I can ignore, but I am starting to feel that I am telling it to myself a little too often. There are some things that I can do, that do hurt my back, but not to the point that I can’t deal with it. I have to not only deal with it, I have to figure something out. I could break down the excuses, but screw that, lets jump to the important part, what am I going to do about it.

I think this is simple, I need to make me a chart. I have a chart for both of the boys on the front door. It is simply to track what they have done and to make sure they do everything they are supposed to do, mine needs to be up there too. Time working out, time cleaning the house, time working on scouts, and so on. Then if I come to something that is already done, then I can lay around and do nothing. I am going to make that today and start using it right after work, we will see how it works out. It might be exactly what I need. I am really worried about the laziness bleeding into my exercise and eating, which will put me back into that cycle of gaining weight I hate so much.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 24, 2012 in General Post

 

Leave a Reply

 
